Director Laura Poitras to be Honored at 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival

Palm Springs, CA (January 7, 2015) – The 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) will present Citizenfour director Laura Poitras with the inaugural Filmmakers Who Make a Difference Awardas part of its Talking Pictures programThe screening will take place on Friday, January 9 at 4:30 p.m. followed by the awards presentation and a moderated discussion with Dana Harris from Indiewire.

The Filmmakers Who Make a Difference Awardwill be given to Poitras in recognition of both the quality of filmmaking she has achieved and of her efforts in bringing this critically important story to the attention of American filmgoers.  This award was created by the Festival in recognition of the significant role filmmakers play in exposing and bringing awareness to issues of vital importance to society and to honor filmmakers whose work, both on-screen and off, leads to a positive change in people’s attitudes towards key aspects of our world.

“Laura Poitras’ astonishing documentary, Citizenfour, has played a major role in changing our perceptions regarding fugitive Edward Snowden and about Governmental intrusion into our private lives through the tools of technology,” said Festival Director Darryl Macdonald. “It’s for these reasons that the Festival has seen fit to honor her role as a filmmaker who has truly made a difference through her work.”

The Palm Springs International Film Festival will be held January 2-12, 2015.

About The Palm Springs International Film Festival
The Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) is one of the largest film festivals in North America, welcoming 135,000 attendees last year for its lineup of new and celebrated international features and documentaries.  The Festival is also known for its annual Black Tie Awards Gala, honoring the best achievements of the filmic year by a celebrated list of talents who, in recent years, have included Ben Affleck, Javier Bardem, Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock, Bradley Cooper, George Clooney, Daniel Day-Lewis, Leonardo DiCaprio, Clint Eastwood, Tom Hanks, Matthew McConaughey, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts, David O. Russell, Meryl Streep, and Kate Winslet.

The Awards Gala of the 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival is presented by Cartier and sponsored by Mercedes-Benz and Entertainment Tonight. The City of Palm Springs is the Title Sponsor of the Film Festival. Presenting Sponsors are Wells Fargo, The Desert Sun and Spencer’s. Major sponsors are Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Wessman Development, Bank of America, Wintec, Regal Entertainment Group, Ignition Creative, Desert Regional Medical Center, Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands, Windermere Real Estate, Eisenhower Medical Center, Guthy-Renker, Integrated Wealth Management,, Ocean Properties, Chihuly and Telefilm Canada.